14th Annual Jazz Critics Poll: 2019

Ballot 2019

Tim Niland (Music & More)


  1. Dave Rempis-Brandon Lopez-Ryan Packard, The Early Bird Gets (Aerophonic)
  2. Larry Ochs-Nels Cline-Gerald Cleaver, What Is to Be Done (Clean Feed)
  3. David Torn-Tim Berne-Ches Smith, Sun of Goldfinger (ECM)
  4. Paul Dunmall Sun Ship Quartet, John Coltrane 50th Memorial Concert at Cafe Oto (Confront)
  5. Peter Brötzmann-Alexander Von Schlippenbach-Han Bennink, Fifty Years After . . . Live at the Lila Eule 2018 (Trost)
  6. Made to Break, F4 Fake (Trost)
  7. Matthew Shipp Trio, Signature (ESP-Disk)
  8. Boneshaker, Fake Music (self-released)
  9. CP Unit, Riding Photon Time (Eleatic)
  10. Teodross Avery, After the Rain: A Night for Coltrane (Tompkins Square -18)


  1. Sam Rivers Trio, Emanation (1971, NoBusiness)
  2. Eric Dolphy, Musical Prophet: The Expanded 1963 New York Studio Sessions (Resonance -3CD -18)
  3. Albert Ayler, Quartets 1964: Spirits to Ghosts Revisited (Ezz-thetics)




Note: Ballot also named Ivo Perelman & Matthew Shipp, Efflorescence Vol. 1.