11th Annual Jazz Critics Poll: 2016

Ballot 2016

Robert Iannapollo (Cadence, New York City Jazz Record, ARSC Journal)


  1. Michael Formanek Ensemble Kolossus, The Distance (ECM)
  2. Wadada Leo Smith, America's National Parks (Cuneiform)
  3. Andrew Cyrille, The Declaration of Musical Independence (ECM)
  4. Sylvie Courvoisier-Mark Feldman-Ikue Mori-Evan Parker, Miller's Tale (Intakt)
  5. Mark Dresser, Sedimental You (Clean Feed)
  6. Taylor Ho Bynum, Enter the PlusTet (Firehouse 12)
  7. Tyshawn Sorey, The Inner Spectrum of Variables (Pi)
  8. Generations Quartet, Flow (Not Two)
  9. Tierra Mestiza (Angelica Sanchez & Omar Tamez), Floresta (Nonjazz)
  10. Jon Lundbom, 2016: EPs: Make the Magic Happen/Play All the Notes/Bring Their 'A' Game/Make the Changes (Hot Cup)


  1. Larry Young, In Paris: The ORTF Recordings (Resonance)
  2. Jimmy Lyons, Push/Pull (Corbett vs. Dempsey)
  3. Mothers of Invention/Frank Zappa, Meat Light (Zappa)