11th Annual Jazz Critics Poll: 2016

Ballot 2016

Karl Ackermann (All About Jazz)


  1. Nate Wooley, Seven Storey Mountain V (Pleasure of the Text)
  2. Jon Lundbom, 2016: EPs: Make the Magic Happen/Play All the Notes/Bring Their 'A' Game/Make the Changes (Hot Cup)
  3. Vijay Iyer & Wadada Leo Smith, A Cosmic Rhythm With Each Stroke (ECM)
  4. Raphael Malfliet, Noumenon (Ruweh)
  5. Steve Lehman, Sélébéyone (Pi)
  6. Core Trio, Live, featuring Matthew Shipp (Evil Rabbit)
  7. Avishai Cohen, Into the Silence (ECM)
  8. Bob Gluck-Billy Hart-Eddie Henderson-Christopher Dean Sullivan, Infinite Spirit: Revisiting Music of the Mwandishi Band (FMR)
  9. Jack DeJohnette, Return (Newvelle Records)
  10. Taylor Ho Bynum, Enter the PlusTet (Firehouse 12)


  1. Keith Jarrett, A Multitude of Angels (ECM)
  2. Cecil Taylor, Live in the Black Forest (Edel)
  3. Peter Erskine, As It Was (ECM)